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GUIDE FOR ESTABLISHING 
AN EXEMPT, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER PRIVATE SCHOOL

The following information is to assist you in establishing a private or religious school under Alaska Statutes 14.45.100 thru AS 14.45.200.

Alaska Statute 14.45.200 describes a private school as a school that does not receive direct state or federal funding and a religious school as a private school operated by a church or other religious organization that does not receive direct state or federal funding.

Exempt private or religious schools are those that have complied with AS 14.45.100 thru AS 14.45.200.  A nonexempt school has not met the requirements of AS 14.45.100 thru AS 14.45.200.  Copies of these laws are available on request.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

1. Select a name for your school.  Retain this name throughout the duration of the school’s operation.

2. Designate a Chief Administrative Officer. Select a title, such as Director, Principal, Superintendent, etc.

Send the following information in one packet to the office indicated.  The deadline for submission of a complete packet to DEED is October 15.  If you are starting your private school in the middle of the school year, submit the forms as soon as possible.
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	SEND TO:	
	Department of Education & Early Development
	Student Learning
	Attn: Tim Workman
	801 West 10th St., Suite 200
	P.O. Box 110500
	Juneau, AK 99811-0500
(907) 465-8579
FORMS:
1. Affidavit of Compliance
2. Corporal Punishment Policy
3. Exempt, Religious & Other Private Schools Enrollment form
4. School Calendar



SEND TO:
Superintendent of your local school district.
(See Alaska Public School Superintendents
education.alaska.gov/DOE_Rolodex/QSuperintendents_1.cfm)

Department of Health and Social Services
Division of Public Health
Section of Epidemiology
P.O. Box 240249
Anchorage, AK 99524-0249 
(907) 269-8000
FORMS:
5. Affidavit of Compliance
6. Immunization Report  
(see item #6 below)



FORMS REQUIRED:

1.	Affidavit  of Compliance - This form is required upon establishment of the school.  The affidavit must be notarized.  It will remain on file with DEED. This form verifies that the school maintains permanent records of immunization, physical examinations, standardized testing, and academic achievement and courses taken for enrolled students.  The Affidavit of Compliance is required only in the initial year of the school.  (AS 14.45.130)

2.	Corporal Punishment Policy – This report needs to be filed with DEED only once. Revisions are included in the Enrollment Report. Each private school shall adopt a written policy regarding the use of corporal punishment. (4 AAC 42.200)

3.	Private, Religious or Other Private Schools Enrollment Report - An annual report of the number of students enrolled in each grade must be submitted to DEED by October 15 of each school year.

4.	School Calendar - This is also an annual report. Under AS 14.45.110 a school year is set at a minimum of 180 days. Calendars may be flexible to fit the situation of the school, as long as the school is in operation for the required 180 days.  You may set your school year for longer than 180 days if you wish.

5.	Enrollment Reporting Form For School District - AS 14.45.110 requires the parent or guardian of a child of compulsory school age enrolled in a religious or other private school to file this form annually with the superintendent of the school district in which the child resides.  This form is required for each private school child.  The form shall be signed by the parent or guardian and the Chief Administrative Officer.  Do not send this form to the Department of Education & Early Development.  It is to be filed only with the local school district superintendent.

6.	Immunization Report - These records are not required to be submitted to DEED.  Registration of immunization records are to be submitted annually by November 15, to the Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS).  These records are also required to be on file at the school site.  The forms are not part of the application packet and can be ordered by contacting the Department of Health and Social Services at the above address.  After the initial year of registering, DHSS will automatically send you forms for the next year. 
GENERAL INFORMATION

Standardized Testing Records - A religious or private school shall administer a nationally standardized test to all students enrolled in grades four, six, and eight at least once each year.  (AS 14.45.120)  Keep results of the test on file in the school.  For further information contact:

Alaska Private Home Education Association
P.O. Box 141764
Anchorage, AK  99514
Phone (907) 566-3450
aphea.org

Or you may conduct a Web search for the many nationally standardized test options.

Academic Achievement - A religious or private school shall maintain student grades and other information that records student academic achievement.  (AS 14.45.130)

Home Schooling
If all of the students in your school are members of your immediate family, then you are home schooling.  Home schooling in Alaska no longer requires paper work.
(AS Sec. 14.30.010)

